March 31, 2017 - noon SF, 3 pm NYC, 8 pm Rome & Paris

dance anywhere® press release 2016

Media Contact: Beth Fein

bethfein@danceanywhere.org

logo

What if the world stopped to dance?

March 18, 2016 –

beth fein invites you

Noon San Francisco, 3 pm NYC, 8 PM Paris or Rome 9 pm Cairo.

simultaneously around the globe

Download this press release as a pdf.

photo: weidong yang

San Francisco, CA – dance anywhere® is a simultaneous worldwide public art performance in which people from around the world, of all ages and artistic capacities will stop on Friday, March 18th, 2016  at Noon Pacific Time, 3pm NYC, 4pm Buenos Aires, 8pm Rome and Paris, 9pm Cairo, 10pm Moscow, 8am Auckland, (world time clock) and dance.

This is a participatory, interactive, DIY public art project, we tell you when to dance – you choose where and with whom. The public is invited to participate. The magic happens because anyone, anywhere in the world can jump in and be a part of dance anywhere® – a combination public art and community activism.

Every year we synchronize our calendars and watches and simultaneously spread dancing images into every corner of our community landscapes across the globe. Dancers, students, seniors, artists, businessmen and dreamers alike put aside their daily grind and unleash their moving creativity in museums, parks, sidewalks, office buildings, bedrooms, anywhere their dancing bodies will fit. Every year thousands of people from Istanbul, Buenos Aires, Estonia, and around the world participate!

Now more than ever, it’s important to put aside our differences and find common ground to share. dance anywhere® creates inspiring experiences that celebrate our communities, and foster a culture of collaboration.

Performer and visual artist Beth Fein, created dance anywhere® in 2005 to:

  • Build community by engaging people worldwide in a simultaneous, public art, performance

  • Reconsider the definition of art, public space, and community

  • Make art accessible to more people

  • Inspire creativity

Since 2005, participants of dance anywhere® have included professional dancers, plumbers, doctors, soccer players, teachers and politicians. Some dances are choreographed, some are improvised and some stretch the definition of what dance is.

www.danceanywhere.org.

bethfein@danceanywhere.org

Share

For press inquiries, contact Beth Fein bethfein (at) danceanywhere.org

dance anywhere 2016 logos
click for larger resolution logo

low resolution dance anywhere promo photo 2014
low resolution dance anywhere promo photo 2014