Right Brain Performancelab

photo by Photo by Steven Gelberg.

2017 location


Portland, OR 97222

About:

Right Brain Performancelab is a company that explores the paradoxes of existence by way of metaphor. Their performances are darkly comic, edgy and vaudevillian. The Performancelab began in San Francisco in 1999 as a collaboration between John Baumann and Jennifer Gwirtz who intersected their work in theater, dance, music, puppetry, philosophy, performance art and videography to create a hybrid, minimal style of performance that is accessible, simple and rich. Over the years many wonderful performers have joined the Performancelab as collaborators, including Laura Marsh, Lisa Claybaugh, John Baumann, Bob Marsh, JoAnn Selisker, Natalie Marsh and others! This year's Dance Anywhere project will be a coordinated improvisational performance by Right Brain Performancelab collaborators and friends past and present from San Francisco, New York, Weimar and Hong Kong.

http://performancelab.org/

2017

Portland OR 97222

Dancing with Right Brain Performancelab & Friends

2016

Casa de PolKatz

Portland OR 97213

Danced with John Baumann and Radar Katz Pollock

2015

San Francisco, CA, Albany, NY, Las Vegas, NV, Weimar, Germany

2014

Various locations in the U.S., U.K., Germany.

San Francisco CA 94118

Danced with John Baumann, Claudia Dunse, Jennifer Gwirtz, Apryl Renee Pipe, Jennifer A. Minore, Liz Filippone, David Samas and his cockatoo, Petal.

Jennifer Gwirtz said:

Four time zones, seven people (six dancing)...and a cockateal! Right Brain Performancelab and friends all got together to Dance Anywhere on March 28, 2014 at noon PDT, 3pm EDT, 8pm CEST, and 7pm BST, answering the question posed by Dance Anywhere: "What if there was a public celebration of dance everywhere, around the world, simultaneously? What if, in one moment, the whole world started dancing?" ...and so, we did! Featuring: John Baumann (San Francisco,) Claudia Dunse (Weimar,) Liz Filippone (Albany, NY,) Jennifer Gwirtz (Sausalito,) Jennifer A. Minore (Flint,) Apryl Renee Pipe (London,) David Samas and his talented cockatoo, Petal (San Francisco.)

2013

San Francisco, New York, London

Church and 26th Streets San Francisco

Danced with John Baumann, Barbara Booth, Liz Filippone, Jennifer Gwirtz, Apryl Renee Pipe, David Samas.

Jennifer Gwirtz said:

Our compilation features five simultaneous performances in San Francisco, Albany, NY and Kingston upon Thames, London.



A PHP Error was encountered

Severity: Notice

Message: fwrite(): write of 34 bytes failed with errno=28 No space left on device

Filename: drivers/Session_files_driver.php

Line Number: 253

Backtrace:

A PHP Error was encountered

Severity: Warning

Message: session_write_close(): Failed to write session data using user defined save handler. (session.save_path: /tmp)

Filename: Unknown

Line Number: 0

Backtrace: